What Is The Solar System?

The solar system is made of the eight planets that orbit our sun it is also made of asteroids, moons, comets and lots, lots more. The sun has such powerful gravity it tries to pull the planets towards it. While the planets try to fly away in the end they are kind of in the middle floating around the sun. They are 140 moons that orbit the eight planets in the solar system. The moons don’t orbit the sun they orbit the planet they are nearest to.

We have nine planets in our Solar System. These planets circle around the sun (as I’m sure you know already) this is called orbits.

A lot of astronomy people like to think of the Solar System been made up in two parts We have the Inner Solar System which has Mercury, Venus, Earth and not forgetting Mars. These are closest to the sun and are called the terrestrial planets simply because the have very solid rocky surfaces.

The Outer Solar System has Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune these are sometimes called the gas giants Out past Neptune you’ll find the small planet of Pluto which has a solid but icier surface. Many don’t class this as a planet anymore but you can read this on the Pluto page. These two systems are separated by the asteroid belt Our Solar System also contains comets, moons, dust, gas and some minor planets.

see planetsforkids for more info

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *